Chairman Announces New Communications Team

Apr 13, 2005

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Recently, John Haugen was named Communications Director and Alise Kowalski was named Press Secretary. Haugen, a Minnesota native, worked previously for the Committee under former Ranking Minority Member Charlie Stenholm. Kowalski is from the Sixth District of Virginia and served as Deputy Press Secretary for the Committee since June 2004.


"John has worked in the House of Representatives for the past 29 years in a variety of capacities and has enjoyed an excellent working relationship with the majority staff," Chairman Goodlatte said. "Alise did an outstanding job as Deputy Press Secretary and I believe these two individuals will comprise a first-rate communications team."

"This committee works hard on behalf of agriculture and I am hopeful we will be able to continue to work on a bipartisan basis in order to meet the challenges facing the nation's producers," said Goodlatte. "As we gear up to start working on the next Farm Bill, I am confident that John and Alise's unique combination of talents and experience will serve the Committee well. In the meantime, I am proud of my entire staff and the outstanding job they do on behalf of the nation's agricultural interests."