Lucas Announces Final Republican Member to Join Ag Committee

Feb 4, 2009

Tamara Hinton (202) 225-0184

WASHINGTON –Today, Agriculture Committee Ranking Republican Frank Lucas announced the addition of Rep. Cynthia Lummis from Wyoming to the Republican membership of the Committee. This completes the Republican roster. Rep. Lummis will serve on the subcommittee on Department Operations, Oversight, Nutrition, and Forestry, and the subcommittee on Horticulture and Organic Agriculture. The complete list of Agriculture Committee Republicans is included below.

“I welcome Rep. Lummis to the Agriculture Committee and look forward to working with her. She will bring a greater Western perspective and real world experience as a livestock producer to the Committee,” said Ranking Member Frank Lucas.

Rep. Cynthia Lummis is a fourth generation rancher from Cheyenne. Lummis most recently served as the 29th state treasurer. Lummis served in the Wyoming State Legislature from 1979 to 1994, first as representative and later as a senator. The cattle industry is the largest part of Wyoming agriculture accounting for 69 percent of all cash receipts in 2007. Hay is the leading crop followed by sugarbeets, corn, and wheat.

The Agriculture Committee Republicans are listed below:

Frank Lucas, Ranking Member, (OK-3)

Bob Goodlatte (VA-6)

Jerry Moran (KS-1)

Timothy V. Johnson (IL-15)

Sam Graves (MO-6)

Mike Rogers (AL-3)

Steve King (IA-5)

Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)

K. Michael Conaway (TX-11)

Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1)

Jean Schmidt (OH-2)

Adrian Smith (NE-3)

Robert E. Latta (OH-5)

Phil Roe (TN-1)

Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-9)

Glenn W. Thompson (PA-5)

Bill Cassidy (LA-6)

Cynthia Lummis (WY)