Skip to Content

Press Releases

Chairman Scott And Subcommittee Chair Spanberger Welcome Announcement of Randy Moore as Chief of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Forest Service

(WASHINGTON) – House Agriculture Committee Chairman David Scott and Conservation and Forestry Subcommittee Chair Abigail Spanberger issued the following statement after the announcement of Randy Moore as Chief of the United States Department of Agriculture’s Forest Service:

“I would like to congratulate Mr. Randy Moore on his selection to serve as the 20th Chief of USDA’s Forest Service and the first African American to ever head the agency,” said Chairman David Scott. “I look forward to working with him in his new role.”

Chairman David Scott continued, “I would also like to thank outgoing Chief Vicki Christiansen for her dedicated career in public service, including more than a decade of service at the Forest Service. I join thousands of USDA employees in wishing Chief Christiansen all the best in her retirement.”

Chairwoman Abigail Spanberger added, “As Chair of the Conservation and Forestry Subcommittee, I would like to extend a warm congratulations to Mr. Moore and the Forest Service family. Mr. Moore brings more than 40 years of valuable experience to this role — including as Forester for the Pacific Northwest, and I hope this critical insight will help strengthen our nation’s wildfire management during a particularly difficult fire season and into the future. As a former NRCS employee, his selection also provides an opportunity to further bridge the efforts of NRCS with those of the Forest Service as we work together to combat the climate crisis.”

Back to top