Skip to Content

Press Releases

Chairman David Scott Announces Business Meeting to Consider 1890 African American Land-Grant Institution Scholarship Bill

WASHINGTON (October 19, 2021) – House Agriculture Committee Chairman David Scott announced that the House Agriculture Committee will host a Business Meeting to consider H.R. 4252 - To provide additional funding for scholarships for students at 1890 institutions. 

"It is my absolute honor to have the opportunity to bring my 1890 African American Land-Grant Institution scholarship bill up for consideration by our House Agriculture Committee," said Chairman David Scott. "In my time in Congress, funding for the 1890 African American Land-Grant Institutions has been a pillar of my work, and it is my distinct honor to bring forward this bill." 

Chairman David Scott continued, "Earlier this year, we heard directly from each of the 19 Presidents of the 1890 African American Land-Grants Colleges and the great impact these scholarships have for the 1890’s and their communities. Not only will this bill make 1890 Land-Grant Historically Black Colleges and Universities’ Student Scholarships Program permanent, but we will also be including an increase in funding from the current $80 million by an additional $100 million."

"This effort is one that I had much support on, including from our Vice Chair Alma Adams, the Chair of the Agriculture Appropriations Subcommittee Sanford Bishop, and early support of the House Budget Committee Chair John Yarmuth and the House Rules Committee Chair Jim McGovern.  And, I also our thank Republican cosponsors Mike Turner of Ohio and Ted Budd of North Carolina for their bipartisan support. We all look forward to working to get this critical funding enacted into law," Chairman David Scott concluded.

H.R. 4252 was originally introduced in July, 2021 with the following original co-sponsors:

House Budget Committee Chairman John Yarmuth (KY) 
House Rules Committee Chairman Jim McGovern (MA)
House Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture Chairman Sanford Bishop (GA)
House Agriculture Committee Vice Chair Alma Adams (NC) 
Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (MO), Senior Member, Financial Services Committee
House Agriculture Subcommittee on Biotechnology Chair Stacey Plaskett (VI)
House Agriculture Subcommittee on Nutrition Chair Jahana Hayes (CT)
Congressional Black Caucus Chair Joyce Beatty (OH)

Back to top