Skip to Content

Press Releases

Chairman Thompson Reacts to Chlorpyrifos Ruling

Following the Eight Circuit ruling in favor of growers in the Red River Valley Sugarbeet Growers Association et al. v. Regan case, Glenn “GT” Thompson, Chairman of the House Committee on Agriculture, issued the following statement:

“The Biden Administration put political science before sound science to curry favor with activist groups when issuing a final rule to revoke all tolerances for chlorpyrifos. Today’s ruling from the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals is a victory for American farmers and rightfully returns a critical crop protection tool back into their toolbox. I applaud the Eighth Circuit for this decision and look forward to working with the EPA to ensure producers maintain access to all of their vital crop protection tools moving forward.”


On August 30, 2021, the EPA published a Final Rule revoking all tolerances for chlorpyrifos despite EPA previously determining there can be continued safe uses of chlorpyrifos in a December 2020 Proposed Interim Decision.

Chairman Thompson and Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Ranking Member John Boozman (R-AR) previously called on EPA to rescind the final rule. Chairman Thompson also joined House Committee on Oversight and Accountability Chairman James Comer (R-KY) and House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology Chairman Frank Lucas (R-OK) in conducting oversight over EPA’s decision to sideline career scientists in this decision and requesting EPA withdraw the Notice of Intent to Cancel the registration of chlorpyrifos.